World Heritage Sites

Nepal despite being a small country has been bestowed with beautiful elements of nature. Nepal covers a total land area of 147181 square kilometers and has many places recognized as the World Heritage sites by UNESCO. There are a total of 10 world heritage sites in Nepal. Among them, seven are in Kathmandu, the capital itself. These include both natural and cultural sites.

Cultural Sites

There are seven cultural heritages in Kathmandu valley, all of which are groups of temples and monuments. These are rich in historical and artistic emblems. The seven sites of Kathmandu listed under World Heritage sites by UNESCO are as follows:

  • Kathmandu Durbar Square
  • Patan Durbar Square
  • Bhaktapur Durbar Square
  • Changu Narayan Temple
  • Swayambhunath Stupa
  • Pashupatinath Temple
  • Lumbini
  • Bouddhanath Stupa

Natural Sites
Two of Nepal’s national parks are included in the World Heritage Sites list. These areas are rich in biodiversity and are homes to some of the rarest animals in the world. Snow Leopard, Lesser Panda, Single horned Asiatic Rhinos, Bengal Tiger etc are habitats of these parks. The two national parks that are listed under Word Heritage sites list are:

  • Chitwan National Park
  • Sagarmatha National Park

UNESCO World Heritage Sites
The World Heritage List comprises of 830 sites that are of cultural and natural significance. These include 644 properties of cultura value, 162 of natural value and 24 mixed properties. As said earlier, ten of these are in Nepal

Some Nepal Sites/Properties submitted on the Tentative List of UNESCO

  • The early medieval architectural complex of Panauti (1996)
  • Tilaurakot, the archaeological remains of ancient Shakya Kingdom (1996)
  • Cave architecture of Muktinath Valley of Mustang (1996)
  • The medieval palace complex of Gorkha (1996)
  • Ramagrama, the relic stupa of Lord Buddha (1996)
  • Khokana, the vernacular village and its mustard-oil seed industrial heritage (1996)